Media Guide

Media Contacts

Wes Sumner
Vice President for Marketing and Communication
(321) 674-6218
wsumner@fit.edu

Adam Lowenstein
News Bureau Chief
(321) 674-8964
adam@fit.edu

TOPIC NAME EXPERTISE EMAIL
Advanced Manufacturing Michael Grieves Executive Director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing and Innovative Design, product lifecycle management, computer and data communications mgrieves@fit.edu
Autism Michael Kelley Exec Dir, Scott Center for Autism Treatment, symptoms of autism, translational research, assessment and intervention of severe problem behavior, and pediatric feeding disorders, former editor, Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis mkelley@fit.edu
Autism Ivy Chong licensed psychologist, board certified behavior analyst, treatment programs for children on autism spectrum, pediatric assessment  ichong@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics Julie Moore unmanned aircraft systems, aviation human factors, fighter pilot experience moore@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics Dennis Dalli unmanned aircraft systems, UAVs for bridge inspection, LiDAR ddalli@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics Scott Winter aviation human factors, pilot decision-making, flight training, aviation safety, accident investigation swinter@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics William Rankin airport management, airline security, astrophotography wrankin@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics Victoria Dunbar flight operations, flight school management, women in aviation, aviation flight technology dunbarv@fit.edu
Aviation/Aeronautics Isaac Silver flight intsruction, fluid dynamics, aircraft systems modeling isilver@fit.edu
Biology Robert van Woesik coral population and community ecology, coral reef management, Director, Institute for Research on Global Climate Change rvw@fit.edu
Biology Richard Aronson marine biology, climate and coral reefs, climate change impact on Antarctic ecology   raronson@fit.edu
Biology Spencer Fire marine mammals, impact of harmful algal blooms, biotoxins sfire@fit.edu
Biology Toby Daly-Engel sharks, shark attacks, shark reproduction, women in science TBD
Biology Jonathan Shenker fish and fisheries, biological/ecoological factors affecting fish populations, fish and habitat management, sportfish shenker@fit.edu
Biology Michael Grace behavioral neuroscience, neural and physiological mechanisms in animals, infrared imaging in pit vipers, phythons and boas, animal behavior,  circadian clocks  mgrace@fit.edu
Biomedical Engineering Ted Conway 3D tissue engineering, former program director, National Science Foundation   tconway@fit.edu
Biomedical Engineering Carlkos Martino quantum biology cmartino@fit.edu
Biomedical Engineering Kunal Mitra short pulse laser-tissue interaction for biomedical imaging, development of optical tomography system for cancer detection, 3D bioprinting of tissues kmitra@fit.edu
Cancer Michael Fenn Raman spectroscopy/advanced data mining for cancer research and diagnosis, nanomedicine, oncology mfenn@fit.edu
Cancer Eric Guisbert Connection between cellular stress and cancer, C. elegans roundworm grimwade@fit.edu
Cancer Julia Grimwade Cell growth and division processes, molecular biology, novel antibiotic targets  
Cancer Alan Leonard Cell growth regulation, DNA replication, microbial genetics aleonard@fit.edu
Chemistry Michael Freund solar fuel, solar membranes, batteries, artificial leaves, electrochemistry msfreund@fit.edu
Chemistry Kurt Winkelmann virtual learning environments/virtual reality, kinetics, photochemistry, materials science, nanotechnology kwinkel@fit.edu
Chemistry Joel Olson general chemistry, microscopy, chemical eduacation, chemical sensors jolson@fit.edu
Construction/Civil Engineering Troy Nguyen enery-efficient construction, the view from industry, systems engineering and automation, land development tnguyen@fit.edu
Construction/Civil Engineering Ashok Pandit stormwater management, groundwater, hydrologic modeling, hydraulics apandit@fit.edu
Construction/Civil Engineering Paul Cosentino fiber-optic sensors and applications in civil engineering, highway applications for recycled materials cosentin@fit.edu
Construction/Civil Engineering Jean-Paul Pinelli risk analysis, structural dynamics, earthquake and wind engineering pinelli@fit.edu
Cybersecurity/Computers Marco Carvalho cybersecurity, computer networks, multi-agent systems, tactical communication and information systems mcarvalho@fit.edu
Cybersecurity/Computers Thomas Eskridge artificial intelligence, cognitive modeling teskridge@fit.edu
Cybersecurity/Computers Michael King biometrics and identity intelligence, intelligence community, machine learning michaelking@fit.edu
Cybersecurity/Computers Fareena Saqib hardware security, hardware-based authentication, computer architecture fsaqib@fit.edu
Entrepreneurship/Innovation Scott Benjamin Director, Center for Entrepreneurship and New Business Development, commercial space transportation, strategic management  sbenjamin@fit.edu
Entrepreneurship/Innovation Abram Walton Director, Center for Lifecycle and Innovation Management, new product development, technology commercialization awalton@fit.edu
History/Culture Robert Taylor 19th and 20th century America, American South, Florida history, U.S. military history, Space Age, 20th century Europe rotaylor@fit.edu
History/Culture Gordon Patterson mosquito control, mosquito-borne diseases, environmental history, German and Austrian intellectual history, science and technology history patterso@fit.edu
History/Culture Lisa Perdigao deah and resurrection in literature, film, television and comics, Marvel cinematic universe, comic book adaptations, Florida culture in literature, film and television lperdiga@fit.edu
Human-Centered Design Ondrej Doule Google Glass/integrated display systems, space architecture, cockpit design, past commander, Mars Desert Research Station missions odoule@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources John Trefry ocean engineering, muck remediation, marine polution jtrefry@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources Robert Weaver oean engineering, water quality, coastal flooding, circulation modeling rjweaver@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources Kelli Hunsucker oyster mats, oceanography, biofouling, water quality khunsucker@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources Kevin Johnson zooplankton ecology, Florida coast invertebrates johnson@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources Stephen Wood autonomous underwater vehicles and technology, wave and current energy   swood@fit.edu
Indian River Lagoon/Natural Resources Geoffrey Swain Director, Center for Corrosion and Biofouling Control swain@fit.edu
Mechanical Aerospace Enginering Dan Kirk rocket propulsion, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics dkirk@fit.edu
Mechanical Aerospace Enginering Hamid Hefazi aerodynamic design optimization, wind energy, hydrodynamics hhefazi@fit.edu
Mechanical Aerospace Enginering Markus Wilde human-machine interface, orbital debris removal, on-orbit servicing, rendezvous and docking  mwilde@fit.edu
Mechanical Aerospace Enginering Pierre Larochelle robotics and robot design, computer-aided design, virtual reality in robot design, mechatronics pierrel@fit.edu
Mechanical Aerospace Enginering Razvan Rusovici smart structural applications and structural dynamics, smart-material actuators, flight test, bioengineering rrusovici@fit.edu
Psychology Erin Richard psychology in the workplace, emotion regulation/stress management, survey design and analysis, goal setting erichard@fit.edu
Psychology Richard Griffith Executive Director, Institute for Cross Cultural Management, cross cultural competence, global leadership, personality measurement griffith@fit.edu
Psychology Kristi Van Sickle integrated health care, community health, professional competence kvansickle@fit.edu
Psychology Darby Proctor behaviorial economics and decision-making in nonhuman primates  dproctor@fit.edu
Space Sciences Jessica Wildman psychology of long-duration space exploration, teams, relationship/interaction optimization, trust development jwildman@fit.edu
Space Sciences Andrew Palmer Martian gardening, astrobiology apalmer@fit.edu
Space  Sciences Brooke Wheeler Martian gardening, plant ecology, aviation human factors bwheeler@fit.edu
Space Sciences Andy Aldrin Director, Buzz Aldrin Space Institute aaldrin@fit.edu
Weather Amitabh Nag lightning physics, sensing technology, lightning interaction anag@fit.edu
Weather George Maul marine meteorology, coastal beach erosion gmaul@fit.edu
Weather Steven Lazarus science of hurricanes, coastal meteorology, wind and wave modeling, thunderstorms, climate slazarus@fit.edu
Weather Hamid Rassoul lightning formation, lightning physics, ground strikes hrassoul@fit.edu
Weather Albert Bleakley wind damage, storm mitigation, safeguardiong home, business and infrastructure, post-storm cleanup ableakley@fit.edu
Weather Rodrigo Mesa-Arango evacuation decisions, transportation issues rmesaarango@fit.edu
Weather Victoria Follette psychological effects associated with extreme weather, managing stress vfollette@fit.edu